Repairs of the torso of the transverse wall of the Burgrave’s Palace

The castle Točník was built between 1395 and 1398 by King Václav IV at Zámecká hora (which has seen settlement already in the Hallstatt Period), at the upper end of the same stone ridge where, near its lower end, the castle Žebrák had been located before.

Read more...

Repairs of historical walls and walkways in the southern part of the Garden on the Ramparts within the Prague Castle premises

 As part of Prague Castle, the Garden on the Ramparts (Zahrada na Valech) has been protected as a Czech national cultural monument since 1962. The Garden on the Ramparts is a large complex of Prague Castle's southern gardens, which extends from the Rose Garden in the west all the way to the artillery bastion – the Black Tower in the east, at the Opyš hill.

Read more...

Valtice Château

The Baroque château of Valtice is among the most sought-after tourist destinations in the Czech Republic. Owing to its location, rich history and valuable artistic and architectural features, the heritage site was, together with the neighbouring château Lednice, included in the prestigious UNESCO World Heritage Sites list in 1996.
Starting in spring 2014, the château was undergoing a comprehensive reconstruction of the riding gall and the gardener's house. A Baroque theatre was restored in the former riding hall and now serves as the National Centre of Theatre and Dance. The adjoining gardener's house was turned into a study room with library.
GEMA ART GROUP a.s. minor participation in the project started in September 2014.In particular, the company carried out works involving restoration of the façade of the western castle forecourt, insulation of the underground part of the complex at the Hubertus Hotel, and an overall reconstruction of the connecting corridor located between the château itself and the gardener's house. The works were completed in April 2015.

Read more...

Restoration of the Plasy Monastery Farmyard

For many years, the extensive Plasy Monastery has been an attractive destination due to its rich history and extraordinary architecture. The originally Cistercian monastery was founded by Vladislav II, then the king-to-be, in 1144. The monastery's rise was interrupted by the Hussite Wars in the 15th century and the Thirty Years' War (1618–1648). A new golden age thus came only at the turn of the 17th to 18th century. In this period, the original convent was renovated in the Baroque style and a new farm yard constructed. Baroque architects such as Jan Blažej Santini and Jan Baptista Mathey participated in the design.

Read more...

The Open Rudolfinum project - next stage

GEMA ART GROUP a.s. continued with the next stage of the Open Rudolfinum project, which included a comprehensive reconstruction of the interiors of this Neo-Renaissance monument.
The works were partly done in the second half of 2014, when GEMA ART GROUP a.s. participated in the reconstruction of sanitary facilities, ventilation, and electrical fittings. 

Read more...

Work on renovation of the Kuks Hospital National Cultural Monument

The long anticipated renovation of the unique baroque monument at Kuks in the Trutnov area got fully underway during June of 2013. The extensive baroque buildings were constructed between 1692 and 1724 at the instigation of František Antonín Špork. At that time, they consisted of a spacious spa centre intended for recreation and common use by the higher aristocracy. In addition to the spa buildings and castle, a horse racing track and castle theatre were located on the left-hand bank of the Elbe River. The Count arranged for a hospital for veterans of the war, together with the Church of the Holy Trinity, to be built opposite the spa on the other side of the Elbe River. The baroque statues of Twelve Virtues and Twelve Vices created by the sculptor Matyáš Bernard Braun are located on the terrace in front of the hospital to remind visitors of the conflict between good and evil.

Read more...

Wallenstein loggia, Jičín

 The structure was built to the design of Italian architect Nicolò Sebregondi for the Duke of of Frýdlant, Albrecht of Wallenstein, who had chosen Jičín to be the administrative centre of his demesne. The construction began in 1630 and, according to archives, was completed in just two years. 

Read more...

Karlštejn Castle – repairs of the retaining wall at the access road

This smaller project consisted in a repair of the retaining wall at the access road to the national cultural monument of Karlštejn Castle, namely re-masoning of the wall including the foundations using original material, adding masonry fence pillars and parts of the wall below them, supplementing masonry on the chapel and, finally, plastering the wall and establishing drainage.

Read more...

Historicist lanterns on the Powder Bridge (Prašný most), Prague

 The recent construction of the city ring road and the Blanka Tunnel made it necessary to widen the roads in the Svatovítská street in Prague 6 City Ward. The "Powder Bridge" on the Myslbekova – Pelc – Tyrolka city ring road spanning across a railway had to give way to a new bridge which has the same appearance as the original structure.

Read more...

Repairs in the southern gardens of Prague Castle - Garden on the Ramparts, Prague – Hradčany

 The public contract consists in repairs of low historical walls and walkways in the Garden on the Ramparts within the Prague Castle premises. The work includes renovation of the round fountain including the relevant technology and insulation of the basin with lead padding. The work will be performed during the summer of 2015.

Read more...